Our Governors

Whilst being part of the Societas Trust, each academy within the Trust has a Local Governing Board (LGB), which oversees the work and outcomes of individual academies within the Trust.  The Governors are a body of people who represent the community which the school serves.  They are legally responsible for the management of the school and meet as a whole Governing Body at least once per term.  

Our Governing Body is made up of a mix of local people including staff, parents, members of the local community and others appointed by the Trust for their skills and experience. They act as a critical support to the Head Teacher and the academy. A member of the Trust Board also sits on each LGB in an advisory capacity.  The LGB Constitution can be downloaded here.

The Governors are responsible for ensuring high standards of education and financial effectiveness; they review the overall impact of our academy within the community it serves and are responsible for ensuring the Trust’s ethos and vision are upheld.

Should you wish to contact one of the Governors, please do so through the School Office.

Summerbank Governing Body Members

Chair:  Wayne Eardley

Vice Chair:  Michael Fair

Head of Academy:  Clare Pearson

Trust Representative: Jon Lovatt

Trust Representative: Fiona Stagg

Kayla Shortt

Shamila Wijesundara

Shabana Mahmud

Jennifer Johnson

Michael Fair

Andrew Bagley

Clerk:  Jane Fallows

Committee Membership

To support our ongoing work at Summerbank, our Governors sit on two committees which meet to oversee ongoing developments and decision making within the school.

The membership of these committees is detailed below:

Education Committee

Chair:  Mr Wayne Eardley

Members:  Mr Jon Lovatt, Mrs Shabana Mahmud; Miss Clare Pearson, Mrs Jennifer Johnson, Mrs Kayla Shortt, Mr Michael Fair


Resources Committee

Chair: Mr Wayne Eardley

Members:  Mr Jon Lovatt; Miss Clare Pearson;  Mrs Shabana Mahmud; Mr Michael Fair

Governors’ attendance at meetings can be viewed for  2023-2024.

Full details of Governor appointments can be found in the table below:

Governor Date of Appointment Body Appointed by Term of Office End Date Register of Business & Pecuniary Interests Governance Roles in other Schools
Mr Wayne Eardley 21st March 2023 Trust 23rd March 2027 Owner of ‘VPS Solutions’ No
Mr Michael Fair 19th October 2022 Trust 18th October 2026 No Yes
Miss Clare Pearson 25th Nov 2019 Head of Academy No No
Mrs Kayla Shortt 24th June 2020 Staff 23rd June 2024 No
Mrs Shabana Mahmud 25th Sept 2017 Parent 24th Sept 2025 Child attends Summerbank Academy; husband is a taxi driver No
Mrs Shamila Wijesundara 25th Sept 2017 Trust 24th Sept 2025 No
Mrs Jennifer Johnson 7th Dec 2021 Staff 6th Dec 2025 No
Mr Andrew Bagley 23rd Mar 2023 Parent 22nd Mar 2027 Yes